Message retention is disabled, by default. To enable message retention, perform the following step:
- On the Retention page in the Compliance module in the Enterprise Admin Console, click Enable Retention. The default message retention period of 365 days is enabled.
After you enable retention in your company, you may want to change the default retention period. For more information, see Modify the Default Retention Period.